• Chairman
  • President
  • Board of Trustees
CHEY Tae-won Chairman


CHEY Tae-won

Chairman, Chey Institute for Advanced Studies
Chairman, SK Group

CHEY Tae-won has served as Chairman of the SK Group since 1998. Under his leadership, SK has continued to broaden its horizons globally across multiple industries including energy, chemical, telecommunications, semiconductors, and others.

With a combined revenue of 139 trillion won, SK Group was ranked 73th among the Fortune Global 500 in 2019. Chairman Cheys management philosophy stresses the importance of creating social as well as economic values, and maximizing the happiness of shareholders, customers, business partners, and employees alike. Based on this philosophy, SK Group announced in 2018 its management principle called Double Bottom Line (DBL), which outlines SKs vision to create economic and social values and share these values with the rest of the Korean society.

In 2014, Chairman Chey published his book, New Attempt: Social Enterprise, in which he underscored the importance of creating ecosystems for social enterprises. In that same year, he started the Social Progress Credit (SPC) Project, which aimed to provide incentives to enterprises that create social value. The 6 years of progress made as a result of SPC was recognized as a business case at Harvard Business School in 2020. In 2019, he co-authored a business case study with professors of the Stanford Graduate School of Business, titled “SKs Double Bottom Line: Challenges and Way Forward.”

In 2018, Chairman Chey founded the Chey Institute for Advanced Studies to honor his late father and former Chairman of the SK Group CHEY Jong-hyon, who was a life-long advocate of cultivating human talent. Since its establishment, the Chey Institute has created a new knowledge platform that enables cooperation with world-renowned universities, institutes and think tanks, and contributed to the spread of knowledge and global strategy that generate social value.

Chairman Chey holds his B.A. in physics from Korea University and Ph.D. in economics from the University of Chicago. He previously served as a Working Group Convener at the G20 Business Summit, Director of the Board of the UN Global Compact, Advisory Board Member of the RAND Center for Asia Pacific Policy, and member of the Brookings Institutions International Advisory Council. He also served as the CEO Professor of Techno-Economics & Policy Program at Seoul National University. 

President PARK In-kook


PARK In-kook

President, Chey Institute for Advanced Studies

PARK In-kook is President of the Chey Institute for Advanced Studies and former president of Korea Foundation for Advanced Studies. He previously served as Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations (2008-2011) and Deputy Foreign Minister for Policy Planning and International Organizations (2006).

He also took on other ambassadorial roles such as President of the Geneva Conference on Disarmament as well as Chairman of the 2nd Committee of the UN General Assembly.

As the inaugural President of the Chey Institute, he has devoted himself to establishing the Chey Institute as an international academic exchange platform by carrying out various projects in collaboration with world-leading think tanks and institutions across the world. He also serves as Co-Chair of the Boards of Asia Research Centers at Peking University, Tsinghua University, Fudan University, Renmin University of China, Vietnam National University, National University of Laos, and National University of Mongolia.

President Park holds a B.A. in Chinese Language and Literature, and an M.A. in Law from Seoul National University. He currently serves as a visiting professor at Korea Universitys Graduate School of International Studies.

Board of Trustees

  • LEE Sukjae

    Dean, College of Humanities,
    Seoul National University

  • LEE Jaeseung

    Dean & Jean Monnet Chair, DIS / GSIS, Korea University

  • LEE Junho

    Dean, College of Natural Sciences,
    Seoul National University

  • JAUNG Hoon

    Professor, Department of Political Science and International Relations,
    Chung-Ang University

  • HYEON Taeghwan

    Professor, School of Chemical and Biological Engineering,
    Seoul National University

  • HONG Yongtaek

    Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
    Seoul National University


  • KIM Dae-il

    Professor, Department of Economics,
    Seoul National University

  • CHOI Incheol

    Professor, Department of Psychology,
    Seoul National University